Balkans 1683 and the Ottoman Empire

1999 Balkans
2003 Balkans

Balkans 1908-1992

Central Asia 1995 from UT
On Dec. 21, 1991, 11 of the 15 Soviet Socialist Republics signed the charter establishing the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) with headquarters in Minsk, and abolished the old USSR. The three Baltic republics (Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia) refused to join as did Georgia. The 11 original member states were Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine. In December 1993, Georgia also joined the commonwealth.
2001 Russian Federation - bg - The Commonwealth of Independent States includes 21 republics, 6 krays (federal territories), 2 federal cities, 49 regions (oblasts), 1 autonomous region and 10 autonomous areas.


revised 10/9/06 by Schoenherr | WWI Timeline | Links | Topics | Maps | Films | Reserve list